One Girl in Portales

A Clovis & Portales Survival Guide

White Sands National Monument

Like No Place Else on Earth

Rising from the heart of the Tularosa Basin is one of the world’s great natural wonders – the glistening white sands of New Mexico. Great wave-like dunes of gypsum sand have engulfed 275 square miles of desert, creating the world’s largest gypsum dunefield. White Sands National Monument preserves a major portion of this unique dune field, along with the plants and animals that live here.

I wanted to go to White Sands the second I started to research New Mexico. I had marvelous day dreams about gliding down the slopes barefoot on snow sleds with wind in my  hair. Perhaps I’d bring a camel with me and wear a flowy muslin dress like an Arabian princess. I don’t know where to get a hold of a camel but my truck did just fine. 5.5 hours later I was in the visitor’s center buying my snow sled. I actually stayed at the Tree House Bed and Breakfast in Cloudcroft, which is a little mountain town only 30 minutes away from the monument.

The sled was more of a trash can lid with handles. Not the sled from my dreams but it worked like a charm.  I bought a used one in the gift shop for $10 and the man behind the counter said he’s buy it back from me for $3. I decided to keep mine and promised myself I would find some use for it.

The place is gorgeous. It looks like snow except it’s not freezing. The sand is cool to the touch and doesn’t burn your feet like sand at the beach. Your shoes come off, even if you are one of those people who hates taking your shoes off.  It has a camp ground but I hear it’s incredibly difficult to navigate at night and you aren’t allowed to have a camp fire or booze. I think camping there would be a bit boring but I bet the sunrise would make up for it.

I was so pooped out by the time the sun set the sky off in fushias and pinks. I watched the sunset and then slept the whole way back to Cloudcroft.

You MUST go here. There is just no way around it and you HAVE to watch the sun set.

My sisters were very hyped to get photos of their names written in a national monument AND since it’s a national monument, military gets in free with your nifty active duty annual pass!

Click here for operating hours and  here for fees.

Believe it or not there is some vegetation.

Shoes don’t last long. Sand gets everywhere so do yourself the favor and just leave them in the car.

I found the coolest looking bug there.

My camera is just not capturing the beauty :(

Look how pooped we look after a day of sand sledding. Its quite the workout, running up and down those dunes.

I bet I could make trillions of hour glasses with all of this sand!

One comment on “White Sands National Monument

  1. Pingback: Cloudcroft New Mexico- A weekend getaway « One Girl in Portales

Leave a Reply

Archive

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

